You were recorded watching porn? Are you?

Don’t fall for this scam that you are been recorded while watching porn. Some reports have been shared by Bleeping ComputerKrebs on Security, and TechCrunch of a new scam in which the perpetrators send people emails claiming they know the recipient’s password and have used that password to install malware on their computer and captured a video of them watching porn and masturbating.

camera event live settings

A screenshot of such a message from www.bleepingcomputer.com

message.PNG

Actually, There’s a twisted new sextortion scam going around. Gizmodo shared a screen grab of virtually the same email sent to someone else, and shared a tweet by security researcher SecGuru, showing a version of the email sent to them.

I’m aware that XXXXXXX is your password.

You don’t know me and you’re thinking why you received this e mail, right?

Well, I actually placed a malware on the porn website and guess what, you visited this web site to have fun (you know what I mean). While you were watching the video, your web browser acted as a RDP (Remote Desktop) and a keylogger which provided me access to your display screen and webcam. Right after that, my software gathered all your contacts from your Messenger, Facebook account, and email account.

What exactly did I do?

I made a split-screen video. First part recorded the video you were viewing (you’ve got a fine taste haha), and next part recorded your webcam (Yep! It’s you doing nasty things!).

What should you do?

Well, I believe, $1400 is a fair price for our little secret. You’ll make the payment via Bitcoin to the below address (if you don’t know this, search “how to buy bitcoin” in Google) .

BTC Address: 1Dvd7Wb72JBTbAcfTrxSJCZZuf4tsT8V72

(It is cAsE sensitive, so copy and paste it)

Important:

You have 24 hours in order to make the payment. (I have an unique pixel within this email message, and right now I know that you have read this email). If I don’t get the payment, I will send your video to all of your contacts including relatives, coworkers, and so forth. Nonetheless, if I do get paid, I will erase the video immidiately. If you want evidence, reply with “Yes!” and I will send your video recording to your 5 friends. This is a non-negotiable offer, so don’t waste my time and yours by replying to this email

ponExtortionists are finding leaked account credentials from data breaches and using those leaked passwords when contacting the victim. This adds a sense of legitimacy to the emails as the victims will see passwords that they are currently using or have used in the past.

Once again, this is a scam, nothing has been installed on your computer, and they do not have any video of you doing anything. Therefore, do not be concerned if you receive one of these emails. At the same time, if the passwords sent in the email is one that you are currently using, I strongly suggest you change it immediately.

 

Advertisements